Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

£7.495
FREE Shipping

Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

I am not sure if this is a stereotypical portrayal of the culture or Ava’s attempt to capitalise on white people’s stereotypes about her culture. I started Kirsten Chen’s new novel Counterfeit on Friday and it was so engrossing that I nearly finished it in one sitting. xD It brought a lot of tension to it though, because the whole way through you had to wonder, how much is the detective believing her? Overall, I definitely enjoyed this “fun” and engrossing read, but more than that, I also appreciated the fact that it was a welcome departure from the “heavier” books that I’ve read lately. Both are both books which start with well-educated women who leave the workforce to parent and become less than desirable beings as they struggle with the dissonance of having a developed brain and being expected to easily adapt to the brainless work of early stage child-rearing (they try to make it an intellectual pursuit, but its not.

Neither Ava nor Winnie function on a WYSIWYG model – they are complex, sometimes irritating and sometimes vulnerable. Most purchases from business sellers are protected by the Consumer Contract Regulations 2013 which give you the right to cancel the purchase within 14 days after the day you receive the item. Riveting and energetic…Chen deftly guides readers through the exploits of old friends Ava and Winnie while also exploring the intricacies of friendship, class, culture and survival.As a strait-laced, rule-abiding Chinese American lawyer with a successful surgeon as a husband, a young son, and a beautiful home—she’s built the perfect life. Chen attacks the topics of racial bias, cultural differences, and the expectations that women face, especially regarding family vs.

There’s a lot of talk regarding topics like immigration, racial profiling, and the strained trade relationship between the United States and China just to name a few things. Though they are also archetypes in a type of story that I routinely seek out, and so Chen didn't really have to do a lot of heavy lifting to get me on board.A virtuosic meditation on art, ambition, aging, fami This weird and wonderful story spans a mere four days, almost all of which passes in a Naples apartment where a grandfather is watching his grandson.

The twist at the end was pretty perfect and was not what I was expecting but it did add more flesh to the personality of the characters and who they truly were. I don’t usually choose my books by recommendations from celebrities or book clubs (or both), but I’ve noticed that I enjoy quite a few of Reese Witherspoon’s recommendations. College roommates Ava Wong and Winnie Fang were never close—but now they are literally partners in crime, with a designer handbag scam as brazen as it is foolproof. developmentally challenged son and her husband (a cardiac surgeon), while they somehow have money problems. S. passport to help manage her business—someone who’d never be suspected of wrongdoing, someone like Ava.

Halfway through, one might assume this novel’s most pressing question is whether Ava will get away with her misdeeds. Once I’d finished reading I did question who between the characters was genuine and was telling the truth and who like the counterfeit handbags was completely fake. She married a Doctor, Oli, she’s a corporate lawyer, a graduate of Stanford, and has a 2 year old son, Henri. Winnie has developed an ingenious counterfeit scheme that involves importing near-exact replicas of luxury handbags and now she needs someone with a U.

From the very beginning, I’d known my lot in life: to be good enough at my job, and to tolerate it until retirement. She keeps her friend company but is also there to assist with Ava’s son who forms quite an attachment to her.There’s so much emotion in it, which is great for a book but if talking to a detective in real life I think it would be a little more concise. For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise - an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners. Ava seems to think doing everything by the book—go to the right college, pick the right career field, marry the right man—all guarantees her success. A part of the stereotypical thinking is what Ava uses to gain sympathy in the eyes of the detective. It seems much easier to make a novel a global success if the authors cater to the needs of readers from other countries according to their misconceptions.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop